Julia Kristeva | site officiel


Washington, DC – The Association of American Publishers (AAP) today unveiled finalists for the 45thannual Professional and Scholarly Excellence (PROSE) Awards, honoring scholarly works published in 2020, comprising a total of 130 finalists across 45 subject categories.

Since 1976, the Association of American Publishers’ annual PROSE Awards have recognized publishers who produce books, journals, reference works, and digital products of extraordinary merit that make a significant contribution to a field of study each year.

“We are delighted to be celebrating the PROSE Awards 45thanniversary with an extraordinary group of finalists, representing the full range of scholarly publishing,” commented Syreeta Swann, Vice President, Programs and Administration, AAP. “We look forward to announcing the Subject Category and Excellence Award winners, as well as the PROSE Awards’ top honor, the R.R. Hawkins Award, in the weeks ahead.”

In announcing the finalists, AAP commends the panel of 23 judges who reviewed more than 590 entries in this year’s competition, ultimately discovering works that speak to the breadth, depth, and criticality of scholarly publishing. 

In the next few weeks, AAP will further refine the field by announcing a Subject Category Winner from among the finalists in each of the 44 categories. Subject Category Winners will go on to compete for one of five awards:

·       The 2021 PROSE Award for Excellence in Biological and Life Sciences

·       The 2021 PROSE Award for Excellence in Humanities

·       The 2021 PROSE Award for Excellence in Physical Sciences and Mathematics

·       The 2021 PROSE Award for Excellence in Reference Works

·       The 2021 PROSE Award for Excellence in Social Sciences

One of these five Excellence Winners will receive the prestigious R.R. Hawkins Award, the top prize of the annual PROSE competition. 

The R.R. Hawkins Award is named for the long-time New York Public Library executive and author whose dedication and passion for professional and scholarly works significantly contributed to the acceptance of American science and scholarship across the globe. The 2020 R.R. Hawkins Award recipient was Carmen C. Bambach’s Leonardo Da Vinci Rediscovered from Yale University Press, a “modern rethinking of the career and vision of one of the greatest artists of all time on the 500th anniversary of his death.” 

The list of finalists is below:

Biography & Autobiography

·       At the Risk of Thinking: An Intellectual Biography of Julia Kristeva, Alice Jardine, Bloomsbury








twitter rss